All happiness depends on a leisurely breakfast. -John Gunther

Easter!

Instead of going to Flame and spending $30 on their amazing-sounding brunch buffet, Darren and I decided to make our own. Brunch, that is.

Completely disregarding the fact that Darren doesn’t like runny eggs and requested an omelet, I made Eggs Benedict for both of us (I’m making omelets for dinner so no big). I haven’t made it since Foods for Today class in high school, so I wasn’t sure how well the hollandaise sauce was going to go.

Short answer: no problem!

I used this recipe from Tyler Florence, except I substituted hard salami for Canadian bacon because we already had salami in the fridge.

Darren didn’t eat all of his due to the aforementioned aversion to egg yolk, but we were both pleased with the results. Next time I’ll fry his eggs instead and I think all will be well.

Eggs Benedict

After making the Benedict, I had egg whites left and decided to make meringue cookies. Here’s the thing about meringue cookies: store bought, they’re pretty hit-or-miss. But I was determined to make something tasty.

I found this recipe and made some alterations. My version of the recipe is below, but I will tell you now that I am not disappointed.

Meringue Cookies

Chocolate Almond Meringue Cookies (modified from allrecipes)

  • 4 egg whites
  • 2  1/4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • fistful of toasted coconut

Preheat oven to 250 degrees. Grease and flour a baking sheet (or use parchment paper).

Using an electric mixer, whip egg whites until foamy. Slowly add in powdered sugar, while mixing on medium speed. Continue mixing until batter is pretty stiff and satiny. This is easier if you’ve made meringue before and know what it’s supposed to look like. Just before you finish mixing, slowly add in the almond extract, followed by the cocoa powder. Fold in toasted coconut.

Pipe or spoon batter onto your cookie sheet in whatever size you decide is appropriate. I ended up making a couple different sizes and they all turned out fine. Bake for 45 minutes to an hour. I baked mine for 45 minutes, then turned off the oven for the last 15. This resulted in a cookie that is crispy with just a bit of softness left inside.

Next up: Cinnamon Crisp cookies. I’m not sure if I’m making these today or next weekend, but they will happen. Oh yes.

Leave a comment